FAQ

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

 

  • What about regional codes? And what about the television standard (PAL/ NTSC)?

The DVDs are coded regional code free and hence will play everywhere. Solely a few old DVDs have region code 2 (Europe). Television standard is PAL. 
If you're living in a country with NTSC (e.g. USA or Japan), please check if your player also supports PAL. Software players on PC/Laptops normally support both. 
You don't know what's the television standard in your country? Check here at Wikipedia if you have PAL / NTSC


_______________________
 

  • Why is panel XY so short? / Why can't we have the whole panel? / Why is my question not on the DVD? 


As you can see in the product descriptions, our DVDs got longer from year to year, to let you see more of the convention. But an entire convention unfortunately doesn't fit on the DVDs. An entire convention is about 20-30 hours long, 4 day conventions even more. Depending on quality there can be 3-4 hours on a disc. A box with 10 discs would give you the entire show, but it would be too expensive. 
But on the bright side: If you were in the audience and felt ashamed for someone else's questions/actions, a question was asked thrice, there was an awkward silence or boredom on stage, you don't need to survive it a second time. 
We try to put those parts on the DVD of which we think they are most interesting, funny or entertaining for you.


_______________________
 

  • Why is the DVD so "expensive"? They are like 10 bucks at BestBuy.


First: we aren't expensive. Just compare. For 10 bucks you get a case with one Disc, we usually have two or three. For 10 bucks you get a movie and maybe some specials, altogether that are 130 minutes on average. That's about 8 cents per minute. From us you get e.g. 720 Minutes (RingCon 2015) for 25 bucks. Thats about 3 cents per minute.
Second: The 10 bucks movie was probably running in cinemas before and already covered its production costs with it. We can only do this with sales. In addition to that the 10 bucks movie has a millionfold number of copies of which hundreds of thousands will be sold. Through the number of copies the costs of duplicating are on a minimum. And through the numerous sales there will be a big sum of money pretty soon. But we only sell a few hundreds of copies from each convention. So to lower the price there would need to be a multiplication of sales. 


_______________________
 

  • Why is there no Blu-ray version? 


It's much more expensive to produce a Blu-ray than it is to produce a DVD because you need some licences. On a number of occasions we conducted surveys if Blu-rays are requested. For some of you it was, but just for such a little number that if won't pay off for the moment. If we were to sell 1.000 DVDs and 800 Blu-rays - fine. But with the current 400 DVDs per convention, that would not work. Our storage is bursting already because you always have to take 1.000 copies from the replication facility as a minimum.
Plus 1.000 DVDs plus licence fees for maybe 50 interested buyers - we think you get the picture. But we are planning to offer you Blu-rays on request for selected events. When the time has come, we will announce it on facebook and with our newsletter. 


_______________________
 

  • Why can't we just download panels etc.? 


Unfortunately copying is still our biggest enemy that puts the productions at risk every year, because we can barely cover the costs. Members of the crew, who weren't recognized as such, even witnessed on Star Trek meetings how 20 times copied DVDs were dispensed to everyone. We were also approached at the convention itself if we had interest in a copy of the DVD. If interested we could have put down our name in a special copy list. A possibility to download would ease the possibility to copy. Which would decrease the sales even more. Then we would have to terminate productions. And the copy guys would not have anything left to copy.
Plus we would like to issue a product that can be taken in hand, collected and put on the shelf. 
Furthermore a pay-to-download portal would be pretty expensive (Webspace, Traffic, developing, administration). 
And last but not least we would need to talk about rights because online distribution is a totally other thing.


_______________________
 

  • Can you also film at my convention/event?

Of course, we are open for all new things. Just write us an email to info@fedcon-tv.de and introduce us to your project. We will get back to you with a suggestion for a realisation.

FAQ

FAQ - Eure Fragen

 

  • Wie sieht es mit Regionalcodes auf den DVDs aus und mit dem Fernsehstandard (PAL/ NTSC)?

Fast alle DVDs werden regionalcodefrei programmiert und laufen somit überall. Lediglich wenige alte DVDs haben den Regionalcode 2 (Europa). 
Der Fernsehstandard ist PAL. 
Lebt ihr in einem Land mit NTSC-Standard (z.B. USA oder Japan), solltet ihr vor der Bestellung sichergehen, dass euer Player auch PAL unterstützt. Player in PC/Laptops unterstützen in der Regel beides. 
Ihr wisst nicht, was in eurem Land Standard ist? Seht hier bei Wikipedia nach, ob PAL / NTSC


_______________________
 

  • Warum ist Panel XY so kurz? / Warum ist nicht das ganze Panel drauf? / Warum ist meine Frage nicht drauf? 

Wie ihr in den Produktbeschreibungen seht, sind die DVDs im Laufe der Jahre immer länger geworden, um euch möglichst viel von der Con zeigen zu können. Trotzdem passt eine komplette Convention leider nicht auf die DVDs. Eine ganze Con ist 20-30 Stunden lang, 4-tägige Cons noch länger. Auf eine Disc passen, je nach Qualität, 3-4 Stunden. Eine Box mit 10 Discs würde alles zeigen, wohl aber zu teuer werden. 
Aber seht es mal positiv: Wenn ihr im Publikum saßt und euch für peinliche Fragen oder Aktionen fremdgeschämt habt, eine Frage drei Mal gestellt wurde, peinliche Stille oder Langeweile auf der Bühne herrschte, müsst ihr auf der DVD nicht noch einmal da durch. 
Wir versuchen, die Teile des Panels auf die DVD zu packen, von denen wir annehmen, dass sie für euch am interessantesten sind, lustig waren oder unterhaltsam.


_______________________
 

  • Warum ist die DVD so "teuer"? Im Saturn kostet ein Film nur 10 Euro. 

Erstmal: Wir sind gar nicht teuer. Vergleicht mal. Für 10 Euro bekommt ihr normalerweise eine Hülle mit einer Disc, bei uns sind es zwei oder drei. Für 10 Euro bekommt ihr einen Film und evtl. ein paar Specials, insgesamt durchschnittlich 130 Minuten. Sind ca. 8 Cent pro Minute. Bei uns bekommt ihr für 25 Euro zum Beispiel 720 Minuten (RingCon 2015). Das sind ca. 3 Cent pro Minute.
Und: Der 10 Euro-Film hat sich wahrscheinlich schon im Kino gerechnet, sodass die Produktionskosten gedeckt sind. Wir können dies ausschließlich mit den Verkäufen an euch. Dazu hat der 10 Euro-Film eine millionenfache Auflage, von der mehrere Hunderttausend über den Ladentisch gehen werden. Durch die Auflage sind die Pro-DVD-Kosten für die Erstellung (Presswerk) schon auf ein Minimum runtergegangen. Und durch die zahlreichen Verkäufe wird schnell eine große Summe Geld erwirtschaftet. Da wir jedoch nur wenige hundert DVDs verkaufen, könnten wir nur den Preis senken, wenn sich die Verkaufszahlen stark erhöhen.


_______________________
 

  • Warum gibt es keine Blu-ray? 

Eine Blu-ray zu erstellen ist viel teurer als eine DVD, da man hierfür bestimmte Lizenzen braucht. Wir haben schon mehrfach Umfragen gemacht, ob eine Blu-ray interessant für euch wäre. Für einige war es das, jedoch nur für so wenige, dass sich dieses vorerst nicht lohnt. 
Würden wir 1.000 DVDs und 800 Blu-rays verkaufen, gerne. Aber für momentan ca. 400 DVDs pro Con geht das nicht. Unser Lager platzt sowieso schon, weil man im Presswerk mindestens 1.000 Exemplare herstellen lassen muss. Und dann nochmal 1.000 Blu-rays für vielleicht 50 Interessenten - ihr versteht sicher das Problem. Wir planen aber, für ausgewählte Veranstaltungen Blu-rays auf Anfrage anzubieten. Wenn es so weit ist, kündigen wir dies per Facebook und Newsletter an. 


_______________________
 

  • Warum kann man die Panels etc. nicht einfach downloaden? 

Leider ist das illegale Kopieren immer noch unser größter Feind, der die DVDs jährlich aufs Neue gefährdet, weil die Produktionskosten kaum gedeckt werden. Crewmitglieder, die nicht als solche erkannt wurden, haben schon erlebt, wie auf Star Trek-Treffs 20-fach kopierte Con-DVDs an die ganze Gruppe verteilt wurden. Auch auf den Cons selbst wurden wir schon angesprochen, ob wir auch Interesse an einer DVD hätten, wir könnten uns dann in eine Liste eintragen. Ein Download-Portal würde das Verteilen noch mehr vereinfachen, Verkäufe würden noch mehr zurückgehen. Dann müssten wir die Produktion einstellen und es wäre endgültig vorbei mit der DVD. Die Kopierer hätten dann auch nichts mehr zu kopieren.
Zudem möchten wir gerne ein Produkt erstellen, das man in die Hand nehmen, sammeln und ins Regal stellen kann. 
Ein Pay-to-Download-Portal würde außerdem auch recht teuer werden (Webspace, Traffic, Entwicklung, Administration). 
Und zu guter Letzt müsste man dann auch über die Rechte nochmal sprechen, weil Online-Verteilung noch einmal was ganz anderes ist.


_______________________
 

  • Könnt ihr meine Convention/Veranstaltung auch filmen?

Natürlich, wir sind immer offen für Neues. Schreib uns einfach eine Mail an info@fedcon-tv.de und stell uns dein Projekt vor, wir melden uns dann mit einem Vorschlag zur Umsetzung zurück.